de | en

 Position and Status of Securities Firms

The Swiss securities firms represent medium-sized firms offering financial services. Securities firm are like banks and insurance companies, and in contrast to so called independent asset managers directly and fully regulated by the FINMA.

The regulatory status of being a firms dealer allows to perform most of the important services in the financial industry.

According to Swiss legislation, securities firms are allowed to be custodian of cash and security accounts for their clients. However, in contrast to the regulatory status of a bank, securities firms are not allowed to engage in interest difference transactions. The regulatory basis of Swiss securities firms was introduced in the late nineties with the enactment of the Exchange Act. The Banking Act is – with a few exceptions – fully and directly applicable to securities dealers.

  • Swiss securities firms must (i) meet bank’s legal adequacy requirements and (ii) have a minimum capital of CHF 1.5 million (approximately  € 1.37 million). In contrast to banks, securities firms must also comply with the so-called base requirement, i.e. the capital must amount to a minimum of 25% of the full annual expenditure.
  • Client confidentiality of securities firms is identical to the banking secrecy.
  • Audits must be conducted by a FINMA approved auditor.
  • In addition, securities firms must have an independent internal audit.
  • The board exercises only supervising functions and does not interfere with the Management functions of securities firms.
  • Finally, Swiss securities firms are part of the Deposit Protection of Banks and Securities Firms.

The enactment of the federal Stock Exchange Act has led to a different perception of firms dealers. Whereas historically, firms dealers have been primarily B-concessionaries or exchange agents, they are nowadays predominantly medium-sized asset managers, sometimes even active in brokerage and investment banking.

In a European context, securities firms are the most regulated investment firms, which are characterized by a minimum capital of € 730,000 (so-called “730K-firms”). In the German implementation these are the “securities trading banks” and “portfolio managers”.

de | en

Positionierung und Status der Wertpapierhäuser

Die schweizerischen Wertpapierhäuser repräsentieren die mittelständischen Finanzdienstleister. Sie sind wie die Banken und Versicherungsgesellschaften und im Gegensatz zu den sog. unabhängigen Vermögensverwaltern direkt und vollständig von der FINMA reguliert.
Der Wertpapierhäuser-Status gestattet die Erbringung der meisten wichtigen Dienstleistungen im Finanzbereich.

Das Wertpapierhaus darf für seine Kunden Depots und Konti führen. Im Gegensatz zum Bankstatus ist dem Wertpapierhaus das sog. Zinsdifferenz-Geschäft verwehrt. Die regulatorische Grundlage der schweizerischen Wertpapierhäuser wurde Ende der Neunzigerjahre mit dem Inkrafttreten des Börsengesetzes eingeführt. Das Bankengesetz findet – von wenigen Ausnahmen abgesehen – umfassend und direkt Anwendung auf die Wertpapierhäuser.

  • Die schweizerischen Wertpapierhäuser müssen (i) die bankrechtlichen Unterlegungsvorschriften erfüllen und (ii) ein Mindestkapital von CHF 1.5 Mio. (ca. € 1.37 Mio.) aufweisen. Im Gegensatz zu den Banken müssen die Wertpapierhäuser überdies das sog. base requirement erfüllen: d.h. das Kapital muss mindestens 25% der jährlichen Vollausgaben betragen.
  • Das Kundengeheimnis der Wertpapierhäuser ist mit dem Bankkundengeheimnis identisch.
  • Die Revision muss durch einen von der FINMA bewilligten Revisor durchgeführt werden.
  • Zusätzlich müssen die Wertpapierhäuser eine von der Geschäftsführung unabhängige interne Revisionsstelle haben.
  • Der Verwaltungsrat soll lediglich die Aufsichtsfunktion wahrnehmen und nicht in die Mangementfunktionen der Wertpapierhäuser eingreifen.
  • Schliesslich sind die schweizerischen Wertpapierhäuser Teil der Schweizer Einlagensicherung, der Einlagensicherung der Banken und Wertpapierhäuser.

Auf der betriebswirtschaftlichen Ebene hat seit der Einführung des Börsengesetzes ein Bedeutungswandel beim Wertpapierhaus stattgefunden. Während historisch betrachtet die Wertpapierhäuser vor allem die früheren B-Konzessionäre bzw. Börsenagenten der diversen kantonalen Börsenordnungen waren, sind es heute in erster Linie «mittelständische» Vermögensverwalter, die vereinzelt auch im Brokerage und im Investment Banking tätig sind.

Im europäischen Kontext entsprechen die Wertpapierhäuser im Wesentlichen den am stärksten regulierten Wertpapierfirmen, die durch ein Minimalkapital von € 730’000 gekennzeichnet sind (sog. «730k-firms»). In der deutschen Umsetzung sind dies die «Wertpapierhandelsbanken» und «Finanzportfolioverwalter».